Taking Inspiration from a Devon Day Trip

Uncategorized

On Sunday afternoon I went out to explore some beautiful Devon countryside. We went to Colleton Fishacre, a National Trust property on the coast. The gardens there are far away from roads and lead down to the sea, it’s really the most lovely place to be on a sunny day! Since I had Gertie with me (who is only 6 months old and not very good at sitting still!) sketching wasn’t really on the cards, so I took some photographs to look at later.

I picked out a couple that had interesting composition, and thought I’d sketch them to keep for inspiration later. Composition is probably what I struggle the most with, particularly when working on book pages, so it’s great to have a few ideas in the bank!

devon sketch1

devon sketch2

Leave a Reply

