Card Proofs and When to Change Them

Uncategorized

proofs

I received the proofs I ordered from the printers early this week, but I’ve been so busy, I’ve only just got round to looking at them properly. The quality is brilliant, I’m always a bit amazed at how much they look like the original paintings. I think if you saw them from a distance, you could definitely think they were actually watercolours!

The proof stage isn’t just about quality though. It’s also a chance to see if the designs are placed correctly. In this case I’m happy with some of them, but I feel like others would benefit from a bit of tweaking. I’d prefer some of the designs to be just a teeny bit smaller on the page, so I’m going to make some minor adjustments before actually putting an order in.

It’s an important reminder that this is not a stage to skip! And if you’re ever planning on getting cards (or any other product) printed in quantity, I’d always advise asking for proofs first. Nobody wants three hundred wonky greetings cards!

Once I send the files back to the printer with an order, it’ll probably be about two weeks before these are here and ready to be packed. They’ll then be sent to my wholesale customers, and soon enough be available to buy in my Etsy shop as the first of my new items!

proofs2

 

Leave a Reply

